
Re-Entry Employment 
SERVICE PROGRAM
Reducing recidivism through employment

Last Update 10/2015

Rap Sheet
What is a Rap Sheet?
A criminal history report, or a "rap sheet," is a record of your 
arrests and convictions in the State of Illinois. Only arrests and 
convictions occurring after you turned 17 are reported on your 
rap sheet.
Each time a person is arrested or fingerprinted, the local police 
department sends a report of the arrest to the Bureau of 
Identification. So, your Illinois rap sheet will only contain 
information about your arrests and convictions in the State of 
Illinois. However, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is 
notified of all arrests across the country.
The FBI can provide you with a detailed report of all your arrests 
and convictions in the United States. Your rap sheet can be 
viewed by almost anyone who specifically requests a copy from 
the State of Illinois.

Where Can I Get my Rap Sheet?
1. Start the process at any local police station or correctional 

facility (reviewing agency). You must go there yourself. You 
cannot have a lawyer or other representative go for you.

2. Fill out the Access and Review Card at the reviewing agency.
a. You will be fingerprinted.
b. The form will be forwarded to the Bureau of Identification.
c. A fee may be charged; the fee can be waived. If you are unable 

to pay the fee, ask what must be done to obtain a waiver; it 
will not be offered.

d. The reviewing agency will contact you within 90 days to give 
you an opportunity to review your rap sheet at their facility. 
Your rap sheet will include identifying information, such as 
your name, date of birth and social security number.

3. The reviewing agency will review your rap sheet with you.
a. You cannot keep the rap sheet or copy it.
b. You may be able to keep a copy if the reviewing agency blacks  

out your identifying information.
c. The reviewing agency should inform you of your right to 

challenge any or all information contained on your rap sheet.
d. If you are satisfied that your record is accurate and complete, 

the transaction is considered complete.
e. If you are not satisfied that your record is correct, ask for 

assistance in the process to make necessary corrections.

Other Options to Get Your Rap Sheet*
Your attorney: Your attorney should have a copy in your file. 
If you had no lawyer, you should have been given a copy.
County Clerk’s Office: If you had a criminal case, you can 
review your file, which should contain a copy of your rap sheet 
at NO COST.
Parole Agent or Probation Officer: If you are on parole or 
probation, contact your parole agent or probation officer.
* Note that these copies may not be as complete as the copy 
you receive through the Access and Review process.

Obtaining and Correcting Your FBI Rap Sheet
1. Write to:

U.S. Department of Justice 
Federal Bureau of Investigation 
1000 Custer Hollow Road 
Clarksburg, WV 26306

2. Your letter should include:
a. You are making this request under the Freedom of 

Information Act (FOIA)
b. Your name, address, date and place of birth and a complete 

set of fingerprints
c. There is an $18 charge; If you are unable to pay, you need 

to submit a notarized letter explaining that you cannot pay.

Note: If you find errors on your FBI record relating to your 
Illinois criminal history, contact the Bureau of Identification 
(BOI). The BOI reports criminal information to the FBI. 
Therefore, it is important to initiate a dispute at the state level 
through an Access and Review and then request the corrected 
information be forwarded to the FBI.

Additional information can be found through the Illinois Legal 
Aid at http://www.illinoislegalaid.org.


